Rock the Boat!

 

“Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the trouble-makers, the round pegs in the square holes… the ones who see things differently…” Steve Jobs

Wow! Are you sure? Yes, I absolutely am! I’m sick and tired of seeing women, and men too, who are psychologically/emotionally/mentally distressed because they did/became what other people wanted them to be.

If I hear the phrase ‘don’t rock the boat’ or ‘I didn’t want to cause xyz hurt’ (by being themself!) or ‘it felt disloyal to not do what xyz wanted’ or ‘after all they’d done for me‘ one more time I’m gonna puke! Well, metaphysically if not physically.

Have compassion, Sharon… have compassion! Big breath…in fact 3 big breaths and I centre and remind myself that I too spent years and years not rocking the particular boat I’d been trained to sail in. And here my passion rises again…..

when I think of all the children out there who’re being labelled as mad or bad, statemented or worse as I write because they’re misfits. And, yes, of course I know that some will have conditions that cause them problems. And I bet a helluva lot of them are just ‘scurvy elephants’ (see my earlier blog)… questioning, different, need the kinda teaching that can adapt and be flexible according to the needs of each child.

I remember an ex-head telling me she was resigning because she just couldn’t turn children into identical tins of beans anymore. That’s what we do to our kids… that’s what was done to us.

So as the festive season approaches and the new year dawns, DO ROCK THE BOAT…

What’s one thing you were/are always afraid to do/be ‘in case xyz wouldn’t like it’ or ‘they’ll think I’m mad’? Be mad for once in your life, step out of the strait-jacketed coffin you’re in and do it/be it. Take the risk and be prepared to be surprised and delighted by your experience.

And for those of you who already rock the boat… do it even more! How delicious…..

Wishing you a peaceful, joyful festive season and an exciting, fulfilling new year xxx

