What Kind Of Leader Are You?

The whole topic of leadership’s been pre-occupying me for some time now… leadership of self and others. And there’s as many definitions of leadership as there are people to write them.

One of my favourites is from Alan Keith, a former corporate finance director at the pharmaceutical firm, Genentech, who said “Leadership is ultimately about creating a way for people to contribute to making something extraordinary happen.”

And how do you do that? In an article to be published in the winter edition of Rapport Magazine (www.anlp.org) I suggest leaders need to have more ‘joined-up being’ to include their heart centred and soul-full aspects as well as traditionally thought of feminine approaches and qualities as well as masculine ones.

A tall order? I don’t think so!

Enabling people to contribute, enabling people to make something extra-ordinary happen demands that leaders grow themselves. It demands they be inspiring and motivating role models for humanity in the 21st century.

And each one of us is a leader however small our circle of influence. So what’s it going to be? What are you going to do to become such a leader? How are you going to do that? When are you going to do that? And where?

No excuses!

And if you think I’m being unreasonable in my demands on you… surely, not little ole me?… I’m delighted. I’m totally fed up being ‘reasonable’ by tolerating less in myself and so in others. I know what I’m doing about becoming the kind of leader I want to be led by…

WHAT ABOUT YOU?!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “What Kind Of Leader Are You?”

  1. permanentbeautybydesign Says:

    Good food for thought.

  2. Lindsey Says:

    Oh how true Sharon. We all have our own responsibility for being leaders – this can be within business, as a friend, a coach, a parent. What we say and behave can influence people significantly – think of how children model their parents and can take on their parents’ limiting beliefs! Who are we not to be great leaders – however small within the world.

Comments are closed.


